New Alice B. Toklas Co-Chair Elected and 2011 Board of Directors Confirmed

Yesterday, the Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club elected long time Board Member and LGBT community activist, Reese Aaron Isbell, to Co-Chair the organization through 2012. Reese, a decade long member of Alice, joined fellow Co-Chair Bentrish Satazadeh in thanking Charles Sheehan for his two years of exemplary leadership in the role, citing the most successful Pride Breakfast events in Alice history and several key wins at the ballot box, including the election of former Alice Co-Chair Scott Wiener to District 8 Supervisor.

Celebrating the diverse experiences and voices of the San Francisco political spectrum, the Alice B. Toklas membership also confirmed the nomination of forty-seven community leaders and activists to the 2011 Board of Directors and nineteen members to the Emeritus Board (see below).

In what promises to be a full and active year, the new Co-Chair team and 2011 Board of Directors will, as always, organize aggressive campaign programs for the upcoming elections, including a potential state special election in the spring and the November local elections. Planning has also begun in earnest to commemorate the upcoming 40th anniversary of the founding of Alice.

The Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club is the oldest LGBT focused Democractic Club in the nation, having originally formed in 1972. Since that time, Alice has been a consistent and vocal advocate for LGBT rights at the local, state, and federal levels. The Club is the among the most active and effective political organizations in California, and is known for its field and mail campaigns in support of candidates and campaigns which the Club has endorsed. More information can be found at the Club’s website,

Owen Stephens


2011 Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club Board of Directors

Bentrish Satarzadeh
Reese Aaron Isbell

Alfredo Pedroza

Justin Jones

Martha Knuzten

Immediate Past Co-Chair
Charles Sheehan

Keith Baraka – Co-Chair
Brian Leubitz – Co-Chair
Ken Cleaveland
Colleen Crowley
Lisa Williams
Todd Mavis
Zoe Dunning
Brett Andrews

Kevin Cheng – Chair
Lamonte Bishop
Ron Flynn
Michael Monagle
Kelton Finney
David Augustine
Susan Christian

Jack Song- Co-Chair
Jason Chan-Co-Chair
Francis Tsang
Julian Chang
Curt Robinson
Christopher Vasquez

Media and Technology
Alex Randolph – Chair
Owen Stephens
Shane Mayer

Mark Murphy – Co-Chair
Angela Brown – Co-Chair
Myong Leigh

David Fujimoto – Co-Chair
Rebecca Prozan – Co-Chair
Mark Dunlop
Greg Flores

Lou Fischer – Co-Chair
Adam Taylor – Co Chair
Michael Kasian
Anne Teltorst
Juan Cerda
Amy Moore
Mikayla Connell

Julius Turman – Co-Chair
Andrea Shorter – Co-Chair
Bob Dockendorff
Cecilia Chung

2011 Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club Emeritus Board
Jim Maloney
Kirk Oatman
Jim Illig
Dean Goodwin
Dennis Edelman
Fran Kipnis
Rich Kowalewski
Anna Damiani
Andrew Bryant
Jerry Fuller
Dan Bernal
Carole Cullum
Paul Hogan
John Newsome
Tom Runge
Michael Costa
Matthew Rothschild
Nathan Purkiss
Theresa Sparks

Facebook Twitter Email